SINGLE MOM SOUND OFF: Rhymefest finds his long-lost dad, bashes his single mom

by DC Livers – Exclusive to TheSingleMomClub.com

rhymefest mother father - thesinglemomclub

Photo of Rhymefest and his parents Courtesy of Twitter.com/Instagram

(www.TheSingleMomClub.com) – In celebration of his successful quest to find his dad, Grammy/Oscar Award winning songwriter and rapper Rhymefest released a new track entitled, “Lost and Found” that takes a microscope to his experiences with fatherhood.

While it’s not his best work by any stretch, it is a powerful, deeply personal track that at times makes him surprisingly less than likable with his very harsh words towards his single mother. “Lost and Found” at times feels like SLUT SHAMING, which is a dreadful departure from his previous female uplifting songs like “Sister.”

The intensity of his delivery makes his words towards his single mother sting even more, especially considering that Rhymefest is a lyricist and a wordsmith. At best, his lyrics seems cheap, sensational and a tad shortsighted. At worst, there are disrespectful to all that it takes to raise a child.

“My mama’s boyfriend taught me how to womanize. How to run from the truth and tell women lies. Never had a father and I blame my mama. She made bad judgments and horrible karma. Couldn’t even find a decent man for me to honor.”

Clearly, Rhymefest’s childhood is not typical. His experiences are embedded in him like tattoos on his soul. But, if he’s man enough to forgive his dad, maybe it’s time he did the same with his mother. As if he was expecting the backlash, he posted a photo of his mother and father with him. The family is clearly on its way to repairing the damage that has been done.

The “Lost and Found” video is at times a bit awkward and there are twinges of exploitation of his long-lost father, who suffers from alcoholism and possible mental illness. It’s disappointing because Konee Rok is one of the most entertaining inspiring video editors in recent memory. Flaws aside, the lyrics make zero apologies for Rhymefest’s intense need to have his father in his life.

Watch the video below and feel free to add your comments.


 

RELATED STORY: Rhymest makes documentary on finding his long lost dad and blaming his mother

Rhymefest finds homeless father after 25 years "In MynFather'sHouse"(www.BlacksinHollywood.com) – My first encounter with Cheland Smith, the Chicago-based Grammy and Oscar winning songwriter/rapper often referred to as Rhymefest, was historic. As I launched the nation’s first online Black radio station, BlackPressRadio, my first interview was with Rhymefest.

In full disclosure, prior to the interview I thought Rhymefest was an event not a person. About 5 minutes before the interview, I printed off one page from the Internet on him and that’s all I had to go on for the interview.

Talking with Rhymefest was mesmerizing. That man can talk. But it wasn’t just what he said but how he said it that made me realize he was special. Over the years, I developed a knack for recognizing talent and interviewing the person – usually before anyone really cares. In our 20 or so minutes of conversation, Rhyme converted me from a journalist who like a little hip hop to a full blown Rhymefest fan.

Rhymefest with friend Common, Rhymefest's dad, Brian, at premiere of his docuemntary, "In My Father's House"Over the years, I would have many encounters with him, each getting better than the last. We are so much alike in that we require mental stimulation and feel our brain cells die when we’re around a lot of nonsense. He is an American treasure as far as I can tell.

That’s why I found myself wiping a tear as I saw Rhymefest plastered on a New York City building near Astor Place in Manhattan promoting a high-end clothing ad. It was why I led a unofficial one-woman boycott of the Oscars related to the song, “Glory,” which Rhymefest wrote but singer John Legend and rapper Common got credit for. The protest was well read.

I know the history of relationship of these men as told to me by some of the men themselves and the late Donda West, Kanye’s mom. She was largely a single mother but the impact she had on these boys helped them become the men they are today. Their relationship is awesome and amazing and I respect it. But, the Oscar diss really was the last straw for me. It represented the whitewashing of Black history in music, movies and in life. It was deeply upsetting for me and so I took over BlackPressRadio’s Twitter, Facebook and other feeds to express myself. I authored an article entitled, “Jigaboo vs. Wannabe” they held no punches on my thoughts on today’s TV offerings.

So, it was comforting when Rhymefest’s wife shared the journey and pics of the making of his documentary, “In My Father’s House,” which just hit 20 AMC theaters. I cannot quite articulate how happy I was for him and his family.

His journey has been the snail’s life instead of Kanye’s rapid fire success but Rhymefest’s success feels just as sweet. It is welcomed. It is appreciated. It is humbled. It is long overdue.


http://players.brightcove.net/3891678521001/a902ec88-bb30-4e2e-a876-da4a256c3258_default/index.html?videoId=4536650049001

 

Leave a comment