COOKING CLASS: How to make classic, white, moist cake from scratch and enjoy it

How to make a classic white cake from scratch - TheSingleMomClub.com

(www.TheSingleMomClub.com) –  Every mom should have one recipe that knocks her family’s socks off. If you do not have one yet, let this classic white cake become your signature dish. With just 130 days until Thanksgiving, now is the time to start planning the meal, especially the desserts.

While attending a mommy blog conference in Chicago, I was able to get some baking tips from a major cake company. About six months ago in New York City, I was invited to a private event sponsored by Crumbs bakery where I learned to decorate a cake. We laughed, drank wine and had a sweet time.

White cakeWithout realizing it, so much of my mom life has been about food. What I like. Food traditions that I wanted to share with my children. Managing my expectations of myself as a mom and what others think of me. I decided that the old saying was right because as I prepared each meal I always whispered: “Made with love” before serving it.

That’s when I decided, I wanted my children to know important family recipes but I also wanted to leave my children with my own so I decided to start creating recipes and leaving them in a written format.

First, TheSingleMomClub.com searched the Internet for great recipes. Second, we tried every one of the finalists and here’s one of the cakes we decided were the easiest, tastiest and sure to make your family swoon when you even whisper the word: CAKE! Finally, we narrowed things down by things like food allergies (best glutten-free or eggless) but for this recipe we chose one that assumes the baker will be throwing caution to the wind for the sake of an amazingly great cake.

recipe scrapbook from mom to her childrenIf your food allergies dominate, please stay tuned for updates on various versions. Be sure to mention the allergy or what’s left out of the recipe in the title of your goodies so that future generations can make decisions about whether to add or subtract ingredients.

There is only one area that we think you as the cake baker should have some serious thought: How moist do you want the cake? Some prefer shortening or buttermilk while others swear by using sour cream or the traditional butter. To help you decide what you might prefer, refer to this photo of a white cake from a food blogger.

Once you decide on the various thickness and moistness of your cake, you’re to begin.

Let’s get started.

Ingredients

  • 6 cups cake flour sifted
  • 2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 cups butter or margarine, softened
  • 3 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 cups milk
  •  1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • Easy-Add pure vanilla extract
  • 12egg whites

Makes

12 cups of cake batter.

Instructions:

Step 1

Preheat oven to 325°F. Grease bottom of pans and line with waxed paper or parchment paper.

Step 2

Sift together flour and baking powder. Set aside. Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Set aside. Beat egg whites until stiff, but not dry. Set aside. With mixer at slow speed, add flour mixture to butter mixture, alternately with milk. Beat well after each addition. Beat in vanilla extract. Gently fold egg whites into batter. Pour into prepared pans. Bake until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

